• teenSMART Driving
  • Lifelong Driver

Advisory Council

David B. Carr, M.D.—Lifelong Driver

Dr. Carr is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Neurology and Clinical Director for the Division of Geriatrics and Nutritional Science at Washington University in St. Louis. His areas of specialty include geriatric medicine and Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Carr holds a B.A. in Chemistry from the University of Missouri and an M.D. from the University of Missouri School of Medicine. He performed his residency in Internal Medicine at Michigan State University. He also has a Fellowship in Geriatrics at Duke University.

Baruch Fischhoff, Ph.D.—teenSMART

Dr. Fischhoff is the Howard Heinz University Professor in the departments of Social and Decision Sciences and of Engineering and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University, where he heads the Decision Sciences major. Dr. Fischhoff holds a B.S. in Mathematics and Psychology from Wayne State University and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Psychology from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Richard Harkness, Ed.D.—Lifelong Driver & teenSMART

Dr. Harkness is the founder and CEO of ADEPT Driver.
See ADEPT Leadership Team

Richard Jessor, Ph.D.—teenSMART

Dr. Jessor is Distinguished Professor of Behavioral Science at the University of Colorado Boulder. One of the founders of the university's Institute of Behavioral Science in 1959, he served as its Director from 1980 to 2001 and currently directs its Health and Society Program. For the past 57 years, he has also been a professor in the University of Colorado Department of Psychology. From 1987 to 1997, Dr. Jessor directed the MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Successful Adolescent Development Among Youth in High-Risk Settings—focusing on adolescent and young adult development, the social psychology of risk behavior, health behavior and psychosocial aspects of poverty. Dr. Jessor was educated at the College of the City of New York and at Yale University, where he earned his B.A. degree. He earned his M.A. from Columbia University in and Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Ohio State University.

Dan Mayhew—Lifelong Driver & teenSMART

Mr. Mayhew is Senior Vice President of the Traffic Injury Research Foundation (TIRF), a charitable independent road safety institute. TIRF is a world leader in research, safety programs and policy development. Mr. Mayhew has an M.A. in International Affairs from Carleton University and an undergraduate degree in Political Science from Laurentian University.

James McKnight, Ph.D.—teenSMART

Dr. McKnight is a Senior Research Scientist with the Center for Public Health Improvement and Innovation in Calverton, Maryland. Dr. McKnight has more than 40 years of research experience dealing with alcohol and accidental injury in transportation, including motor vehicles and vessels.

Allison Rossett, Ed.D.—Lifelong Driver & teenSMART

Dr. Rossett is Professor Emerita of Educational Technology at San Diego State University, a consultant in training and technology-based performance, and a member of the Training magazine HRD Hall of Fame. She also serves on the boards for the eLearning Guild and Chief Learning Officer magazine. She was selected as a Distinguished Fellow of the Naval Education and Training Learning Strategies Consortium.

The late Herb Simpson, Ph.D.—Lifelong Driver & teenSMART

Dr. Simpson was the former President and CEO of the Traffic Injury Research Foundation and the chair of the teenSMART Advisory Council. Dr. Simpson began his career in 1966 when he earned his Ph.D. in Psychology from the University of Western Ontario after completing his undergraduate and Master's degrees at the University of British Columbia. After working as a psychologist in the British Columbia Penitentiary, Dr. Simpson became an associate professor at Carleton University from 1970-75. Dr. Simpson served as President and CEO of TIRF from 1975 to 2006. During his tenure at TIRF, he successfully transformed the organization from a small secretariat into an internationally recognized road-safety research institute, best known for its objectivity and independence and whose expertise is sought after by governments and industries around the world.

Wendy B. Stav, Ph.D., OTR/L, SCDCM, FAOTA—Lifelong Driver

Dr. Stav is Chair and Professor of the Fort Lauderdale-Davie Occupational Therapy Department at Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Stav was previously an Associate Professor at the Department of Occupational Therapy and Occupational Science at Towson University. She earned her undergraduate degree in Occupational Therapy from Quinnipiac University and her Ph.D. in Occupational Therapy from Nova Southeastern University.

Jane Stutts, Ph.D.—Lifelong Driver

Dr. Stutts is Associate Director for Social and Behavioral Research at the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center, where she has managed projects in a wide variety of highway safety areas and authored more than 100 articles and technical reports. Dr. Stutts earned her undergraduate degree in Psychology from Wake Forest University, an M.A. in Early Childhood Education from Georgia State University, and a Ph.D. in Epidemiology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.